Life is an adventure!

Standard

One of my favorite movies is Parenthood (1989). Of course, it’s very different to watch it now, as a mom of 5 children, than it was to watch as a teenager. At one point Gil (Steve Martin) is complaining about how complicated life can get. Do you do that? I know I’ve found myself complaining. Life is so messy and confusing and frustrating at times. While he is ranting about the messiness of his life Grandma (Helen Shaw) walks in and says “You know, when I was nineteen, Grandpa took me on a roller coaster.” She continues on with, “Up, down, up, down. Oh, what a ride!…I always wanted to go again. You know, it was just so interesting to me that a ride could make me so frightened, so scared, so sick, so excited, and so thrilled all together! Some didn’t like it. They went on the merry-go-round. That just goes around. Nothing. I like the roller coaster. You get more out of it.” Gil just doesn’t get it, but Grandma is so much more in touch with reality than he realizes. I wonder how many people felt the same way about Jesus’ parables? “This guy just doesn’t get it.” But he does, doesn’t he?
Life is kind of like that roller coaster. Sometimes it’s quiet and slow, tic-tic-tic up the track, then Wheee! What a rush! Sometimes it turns our stomachs upside down, sometimes you lose things, sometimes you laugh so hard you cry. But guess who’s waiting at the end, with a warm embrace and maybe some stories to tell you?
Life is an adventure! Throw your hands up in the air and smile!

Leave a Reply

