Into each life some rain must fall…

Standard

Our internet is frustrating.  We live in an old apartment building with what must be original telephone wiring.  The gentlemen who last came out to “fix” our spotty internet issues told me they were surprised we could get phone or internet at all.  So I suppose I should be thankful for the moments I get.  Yet, in a game of Words with Friends, I had to play the same word eight times before it finally took.  And who knows if I will actually be able to publish this post?  But I had to laugh as I began typing.  Somewhere in the middle of 30 minutes of growling, rolling my eyes, and hitting refresh, I forgot that it was “raining” on me.

If you live close to me in the Northwest, you might be saying, “But Amee, it’s sunny here.  We haven’t seen any rain.  Which way do you think the rain is moving and will it hit me next?”  True, it is sunny right now, as I write.  But wait 20 minutes, that will probably change.  But this is not the rain of which I speak.

I have heard the saying “Into each life some rain must fall…”, so I thought I would look it up. Here is the poem by Henry Wadsworth Longfellow, Rainy Day.  The site I found it (http://allspirit.co.uk/longfellow.html) noted this was written in an old home in Portland.  That explains a lot.  Sort of rings of classic season affective disorder, doesn’t it?

The Rainy Day

By Henry Wadsworth Longfellow

The day is cold, and dark, and dreary;
It rains, and the wind is never weary;
The vine still clings to the mouldering wall,
But at every gust, the dead leaves fall,
And the day is dark and dreary.

My life is cold and dark and dreary;
It rains, and the wind is never weary;
My thoughts still cling to the mouldering past,
But the hopes of youth fall thick in the blast,
All the days are dark and dreary.

Be still sad hard and cease repining;
Behind the clouds is the sun still shining;
Thy fate is the common fate of all,
Into each life some rain must fall,
Some days must be dark and dreary.

Image

 

While Longfellow reminded us of the sun behind the clouds, he missed what the rain brings.  Read about the rainforests.  These places are teeming with life!  Life that would not be there without the rain.  Genesis 2:5 says “Now no shrub had yet appeared on the earth and no plant had yet sprung up, for the Lord God had not sent rain on the earth and there was no one to work the ground.”  To have the green, we must first have the rain.  And it comes in so many different fashions.  Here in the Northwest we have many words for rain.  Mist, sprinkle, drizzle, shower, and downpour, to name just a few.  Without the rain, we cannot have the plant.  Without the plant, we cannot have the fruit.  Without the failures, we cannot have the success. Without the pain, we cannot have compassion.  Without the trials, we cannot have the perseverance, and without perseverance, we cannot have maturity (James 1:3-4)  Without the sin, we cannot have the forgiveness and the grace.

So when your day is dark and dreary, let your roots soak up the rain.  And remember the sun is still shining behind the clouds.  Who knows, maybe you’ll even see a rainbow.

Leave a Reply

