Skipping through the field with me…

Standard

Hello, my name is MamaFoster and I am an oddball. I am a silly girl with a great many pastimes and quirks, things that make me smile. Sudoku before bed helps me sleep, a collection of Dr. Seuss books line one of my bookshelves and are read quite often, sometimes just by me. Analyzing children’s movies for their social commentary makes me feel intelligent, maybe a bit philosophical…could Mr. Incredible represent some powerful people or entities believing for too long that their way is the always “right” way? Maybe. I like to read, a lot, mostly nonfiction, and it’s not uncommon to find several books in my home that I am in the “middle” of reading. Getting the play-dough out at my house or in my classroom is as much fun for me as it is for the children. I love to drive through puddles, and who doesn’t? But if we are taking a walk and a puddle comes up, well, I’ve got pretty good aim and I’m not afraid of wet feet. And I love to skip and sprint. Wide open spaces are an open invitation, whether it is the baseball field at the park, or the mostly empty community room at the church.

Really? Verdad!

I recall one Sunday morning heading to the children’s center to check on my youngest. The morning drop off had been difficult for him, and I wanted to peek in to see he was playing and interacting with the other children. Between the sanctuary and the children’s center is the great expanse of the community space, and it was empty, except for one grandmother headed the opposite direction. And I wanted to skip, so I did. It wasn’t too fast, more of a simple little spring to my step. I don’t know what this woman was thinking when she said “Are you skipping?” She may have thought it was inappropriate for one to skip in a church, ever. Or maybe just for mothers of five. Or maybe she hadn’t skipped in a long time and it looked like fun.  I  may never know.

There are times I want to do something, but don’t, for fear of being judged by others.  I fear being seen as too loud, too obnoxious, too childish, or maybe just a little touched in the head…afraid of looking like a fool.  Then there are the times when I fear missing out.  This is the only life I get to live, and I want to live it.  I want to have some fun!  I want to dance in the rain, play in the mud, enjoy the rainbows and the sunrises.  I want to stop and smell the roses, and the lavender, and the lilacs.  I want to build sandcastles.  I want to doze in a hammock on a warm day.

How about you?  What do you want to do?  And what holds you back?  Rejection?  Judgment?  Auditioning for the play, speaking up for others, entering that contest.  These can be scary things to do.  Maybe being brave is being afraid and doing things anyway.  Or maybe it’s the fear of what might happen if you don’t being greater than the fear of what might happen if you do.  Maybe it’s the fear of missing out on something greater.  So come on, skip through the field with me.  Feel the breeze in your face and breath in the cool air.  This is life, live it!

lushlandscape

About mamafoster

I am a Family Life Educator, specializing in parenting and family resource management, and a Head Start/Early Head Start Teacher. But my first favorite job is as a wife and mother to five beautiful boys!

2 responses »

  1. I would love to come skip and play with you, Mama Foster! You make it sound so fun and inviting. And I would just enjoy time with you, getting to know you, again. What a beautiful picture. Is that the Gorge?

    • Yes, that is the Gorge! I love it there, and I’m really going to miss it after our move to the Midwest. And I would love to spend some time getting to know each other again. Now that I know the way to your neck of the woods…next time I’ll choose a day not so hot!

Leave a Reply

