Miracles still happen, people!

Standard
My Honey being goofy with my scarf

My Honey being goofy with my scarf

This is DaddyFoster. Seventeen years ago I met this wonderful man…while riding public transportation.
TriMet D40LFR bus
It was love at first sight. I already believed red hair and brown eyes was a handsome combination, so when he flashed his shiny white smile, I was in love. And this one had a beard… so manly (he was 18, I was 19)! He knew my friend from high school, so we came up with ways to get this really shy guy to talk to me. And then I didn’t talk. We just looked at each other and smiled. Oh, yeah, we were that couple. One day he missed his bus stop and had to ride all the way downtown (where we were headed) to get his connection. Then he did again. And again. Then he asked for my phone number. I don’t think I could have smiled any wider. Our first date was in February, the wedding was in December and within the first year we had Boy #1.
Things weren’t always great though. Within a few years we were stuck in a pattern of misunderstanding, miscommunications, and frustrations. It became so bad that at one point I saw no hope for our future together, and we separated. Our youngest was only 3 months old. I do not believe he ever gave up hope during this time. After about 5 months apart, and several months of counseling, I felt the Lord telling me it was time for my husband to come home. I wasn’t quite sure I was ready, but why would I want to argue with God? He’s a bit more in touch with the big picture than I am. After six months, we were together again, but it was still rough. Two years after the beginning of our separation, I was beginning to have doubts about our decision. I was still stuck. My thoughts were so centered around what I was getting out of the relationship that I couldn’t see anything else. “He can’t say to me!” “How can he do ?” My attitude sucked! I was not listening to God!
About the same time, our church began a series on the Fruit of the Spirit. Having a fruitful life was a discussion early in our relationship, and my husband didn’t really get it. I attributed this to his faith being so new, less than a year old when we met. But I honestly don’t think I really “got it” either, and I grew up in a Christian home. And I began praying, as I had many times before, that God would send a friend to come along side my husband, and show him what it meant to have a fruitful life.
lightbulb1
That is when it came…the lightbulb? The “aha” moment? The voice of God? “Amee, why aren’t you being that person?”
Oh. Huh. Duh!
When we arrived home that day I wrote these verses on our big chalkboard:
But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law. Galatians 5:22-23 (NIV).
Starting that day, and each day after, I tried to show this fruit to my husband and sons. It hasn’t always been easy, I’m not perfect. But in my imperfections, the Lord’s perfection is evident. What happened in our family after that day was beautiful. The change in our relationship was so great, it could not be missed. Thinking about it today brings tears to my eyes. Miracles still happened, people, and I saw one!
What if I hadn’t listened to God? What if I had said “no”? I would have missed the work He did in our lives. And I would have missed the beauty in our relationship today.
I love you DaddyFoster!

Leave a Reply

