Time to clean the loo…again!

Standard

bathroom
This is not my bathroom. I wish it were my bathroom, but what we have are tiny, ugly apartment bathrooms. Look at all that white! Someday, maybe.

Upon learning I have five boys, I am surprised more people have not asked “how do you keep the bathroom clean?” Yes, this may be considered a rude question, but I have noticed a number of people forget their manners when speaking with parents of many (https://fostersgreatadventure.wordpress.com/2013/01/24/yes-theyre-all-mine/). The answer is: constant vigilance.

For several years I have wanted to make a sign for my bathroom:

If you sprinkle
When you tinkle,
Be a sweetie
And wipe the seatie.

This one works for either gender (have you been in the women’s bathroom after a preschooler?), but I have seen one which applies a bit more closely to my brood.

My_Aim_To_Keep_B_Room_Clean_op_800x533

There are times I walk in and then back out again, to hunt down the last occupant. But the sprinkler in question may not have been the last one in there, as they don’t often sit down and therefore don’t notice.

Each of our two bathrooms have their individual issues as well. Neither has any windows, and the old fans are less than effective. One bathroom shares space with the laundry. If you’ve every experienced the dust vortex in the loo, you can see why this might be a problem. If you’re new to this enigma, let me explain. There seems to be, in many bathrooms, a spot where dust likes to collect, profusely. So let’s see, tiny bathroom, teenager’s daily showers (and leaky shower stall), bad fan, and laundry lint. Ew. Constant vigilance, or close the door and tell the teenager to clean it.

While an inadequate fan and hot showers are an issue in the other bathroom, dust isn’t as much. This water closet also houses Sissy Kitty’s potty box (not to be confused with the cat’s party box, where they “play” with the catnip). With the amount of litter bits she scoops out with each visit, I’m thinking we need a bigger box, but then how would we get into that little room? And this is awesome, fancy litter, too. We use Swheat scoop (http://www.swheatscoop.com/), which is made out of….wheat and totally flushable. I just knew gluten was good for something…superior clumping power! However, when she kicks it out of the box, then someone, maybe, takes a shower and the litter hiding under the edge of the box gets wet….if you’ve ever made glue with flour and water you may know where I’m going with this. There’s nothing like kitty grit glue to the bathroom floor to make your cleaning experience more interesting.

Constant vigilance!  And good aim!

Leave a Reply

