Letting Go

Standard

971765_10151496983644576_631170472_n

My oldest son is on his way to Mexico today.  I am both excited and nervous.  When a child is born, we know we must let go someday.  But it doesn’t just suddenly and magically happen.  It is a process.  A very long process.  Sometimes uncomfortable, sometimes exhilarating.

I graduated college with a degree in human development and have often joked that my family is like my own science lab.  It is true that I have the awesome privilege of watching these boys grow and learn, but this is hardly an unbiased experiment.  I have heard that having a child is like having your heart walking around outside of your body, such an apt description.

heart

And you can feel it, can’t you?  When you watch your heart walk into the kindergarten classroom.  Or when you drop your heart off for that first sleepover, or summer camp.  Or when that heart boards a plane for the first time.  Or when your heart makes a family of their own (a “few” years off for me).  And then your heart learns what this feels like.

My prayer for my son this week is for open eyes and a receptive heart.  For hard work.  For spiritual growth.  And of course, for safety.

heart

Leave a Reply

