Though I walk through the valley…

Standard

Bear with me here. I’m processing stuff.

Life kinda sucks.

I’m learning this. As I journey into the world of fibro-myalgia, I have some days when I am ready to learn all I can and try anything and everything to get better. Other days, I feel hopeless. “Is this what the rest of my life will feel like? Well thpppppbbbtttt!”

blowing-raspberries

Then I heard this the other day. It wasn’t even directed at me, just a random meme on the internets. “Everything happens for a reason.”

This one goes right in my round file, next to “G-d doesn’t give you more than you can handle.” I don’t know who first said that, but I call shenanigans. Where’s the glory in that?

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.”  2 Corinthians 12:9a

“I am weak, but He is strong.”

Telling someone they can, and should, handle everything that comes their way is cruel. It heaps on guilt and doubt, about their strength and about their faith.

Also, telling someone that everything happens for a reason. Equally cruel. I’m not saying some, or many, things don’t happen for a reason. The Bible is full of this. Banishment from the Garden, the Flood, Tower of Babel, wandering in the desert for 40 years!

But in some times, or many times, we will never know the reason. Questioning and searching for reasons can be torture as one tries to figure out what possibly they have done wrong and how to make it right.

I’m also not saying good things don’t come out of pain. How about being sold off by your brothers, being falsely accused and spending time in prison, then rising up and saving your entire family and your people? But would telling Joseph when he lay in that cistern made him feel better? “Don’t worry. There’s a reason for this, besides the fact that your brothers all seriously dislike you and some hate you.”

This world is full of pain and grief. Diseases that cripple and destroy, natural disasters that take all you have, people with evil intentions stealing your possessions, your security, your innocence, maybe your life.

Why? I don’t know.

What I do know is that we are not alone. We are never alone. Even in the darkest times, He is with us.

“Even though I walk through the darkest valley, I will fear no evil, for you are with me; your rod and your staff, they comfort me.” Psalm 23:4

valley

Leave a Reply

